Winter Riding Guilt (saluting e e cummings)

E. E. Cummings was a poet who wrote verse with little or no punctuation; which I have always found interesting. So I thought I might write a short verse about feeling guilty riding my motorcycle in the south during the winter months while my northern counterparts aren’t able. Well – there could be some guilt! I’m from up north and feel for those guys who can’t enjoy their rides during the ice season. Note alternate ending!

//////////////////

no ice or snow to mar my way

i roll the iron windward

the boys up north inside must stay

the guilt i feel is inward

despite the date and lack of heat

the pipes their noises please

the boys up north cannot compete

with a dry and temperate breeze

…. alternate ending

the boys up north cannot compete

but risk untimely sneezes

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

