Information Technology Motorcycling

This week I visited the National Electronics Museum near the Baltimore, MD airport (BWI). It was interesting to see all the history of RADAR and some milestone microwave device displays. The concept of information technology [IT] has been around now for a long time ( > 20 years ) and we are still looking for that elusive return on investment for IT. But just because IT normally costs more than it is worth – doesn’t mean we can’t apply it to our riding experience. Case in point – GPS devices! Here’s to IT and motorcycles…

//////////////////

Key turned; a signal sent to say begin,

computer measures fuel.

Sensors read from both tires below,

two pressures say ‘we’re cool’.

Piston’s fire with tooled grace,

the feedback is concise.

Electrons flow from windings tight-

through circuits so precise.

New GPS reads signals weak

from high above my fun-

Release the brake, accelerate!

the lights behind say run.

The engine revs, improved for sure,

its power is neatly traced.

Intake refined and pipes are fit,

exhaust roars as I’m braced.

I speed away down streets I know-

a RADAR gun is aimed.

The officer, he smiles and shows

his computer has me blamed.

My signature upon a screen,

another signal on the roam-

I ride to buy detector new

my ticket beats me home.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

